Home Entertainment AFRIMA Releases 2017 Regional Nominees List

AFRIMA Releases 2017 Regional Nominees List


The African Union Commission (AUC) and the 13-man jury of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) have unveiled the regional nominees list for the 2017 edition of AFRIMA, the continent’s biggest music awards.

The highly anticipated nominees list for the 2017 AFRIMA Awards which has the biggest acts on the continent was announced in the presence of officials of the AUC, members of the AFRIMA jury comprising of Charles Tabu (DRC), Robert E. Ekukole (Cameroun). Christian Syren (South Africa), David Tayorault (Cote de Voire), Olisa Adibua (Nigeria), Joett Namatta (Tanzania), Tabu Osusa (Kenya), Hadja Kobélé Keita (Guinea) and Omar Es Saidi (Morocco), members of the international committee of AFRIMA, past AFRIMA winners and nominees, media executives and other stakeholders in the creative and entertainment industries in Africa

Commenting on a question of the criteria of nominees, Ekukole from Cameroon, representing Central Africa, reiterated that “the nominees were picked based on production quality, talent and creativity, melody, originality and authenticity, composition and arrangement. It has to do with the quality of music not on the number of views from any online video platform, some songs from certain regions have more than half a billion views and would have garnered the awards based on such sentiment, but it is not so. It has to do with quality.”

Public voting for the nominees in the different categories of the awards will open on August 21 on www.afrima.org.

Check out the regional nominees list below:

Facebook Comments



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here