Home Sports PFA Player of the Year: Who will win it?

PFA Player of the Year: Who will win it?


By Williams ‘Bantu’ Irubor

Chelsea are the runaway leaders in the Premier League but there is a race on for the PFA Player of the Year award with three of their stars among the five favourites.

N’Golo Kante’s sterling work in midfield makes him the odds-on favourite for the trophy but Eden Hazard has been in brilliant form and Diego Costa is leading the line superbly.

Elsewhere, there is Premier League top scorer Romelu Lukaku to consider and what about the impact of Zlatan Ibrahimovic at Manchester United?

On the face of it, with Manchester United currently out of the top four and Ibrahimovic only the fifth highest goalscorer in the Premier League, the Swede is an unlikely candidate for the crown. However, such is the powerful forward’s presence that there is no denying his impact across all competitions. The 35-year-old was questioned due to his age but he was man of the match in the EFL Cup final and has been a true leader on and off the pitch for United this term.

The man who is the current Premier League top scorer is joint-fourth favourite for the award. Everton’s striker is still only 23 years old but continues to prove himself to be an expert in front of goal, becoming only the fourth player to rack up 80 Premier League goals before turning 24. He is also the first Everton player to hit 20 goals in a Premier League season and with six assists too, nobody in the competition has been directly involved in more goals. Lukaku is still eligible for the PFA Young Player of the Year award as well.

Facebook Comments



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.